IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Medal of Honor Ceremony at the White House


Previously recorded: President Obama awards the Medal of Honor to Army Sergeant William Shemin and to Army Private Henry Johnson for conspicuous gallantry during World War I. Shemin receives the award posthumously for his actions while serving as a member of Company G, 2nd Battalion, 47th Infantry Regiment, 4th Division, American Expeditionary Forces near the Vesle River in Bazoches, France, on August 7-9, 1918.