IE 11 is not supported. For an optimal experience visit our site on another browser.

Which senators voted against funding Syrian rebels against ISIS?

Not everyone in the Senate is happy about Thursday's result.

Not everyone in the Senate is happy about Thursday's result.

The U.S. Senate on Thursday approved President Obama’s controversial proposal to arm and train moderate Syrian rebels in effort to defeat the terrorist group known as the Islamic State of Iraq and Syria (ISIS). Senators passed the legislation with a 78-to-22 vote. It now goes to Obama to sign into law.

But the decision comes much to the chagrin of 22 senators who voted against using American tax dollars to arm the Syrian rebels. Below is a comprehensive list of the naysayers:

  1. Sen. Tammy Baldwin (D-Wis.)
  2. Sen. Mark Begich (D-Alaska)
  3. Sen. Sherrod Brown (D-Ohio)
  4. Sen. Kirsten Gillibrand (D-N.Y.)
  5. Sen. Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.)
  6. Sen. Joe Manchin (D-W. Va.)
  7. Sen. Ed Markey (D-Mass.)
  8. Sen. Chris Murphy (D-Conn.)
  9. Sen. Bernie Sanders (I-Vt.)
  10. Sen. Elizabeth Warren (D-Mass.)
  11. Sen. John Barrasso (R-Wyo.)
  12. Sen. Tom Coburn (R-Okla.)
  13. Sen. Mike Crapo (R-Idaho)
  14. Sen. Ted Cruz (R-Texas)
  15. Sen. Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.)
  16. Sen. Dean Heller (R-Nev.)
  17. Sen. MIke Lee (R-Utah)
  18. Sen. Jerry Moran (R-Kan.)
  19. Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.)
  20. Sen. James Risch (R-Idaho)
  21. Sen. Pat Roberts (R-Kan.)
  22. Sen. Jeff Sessions (R-Ala.)

Additional reporting by Aliyah Frumin