May 4: Town Halls and guns, President Obama’s speeches, and Jason Collins

Updated
Jason Collins #98 of the Washington Wizards rebounds against the Chicago Bulls at the United Center on April 17, 2013 in Chicago, Illinois.
Jason Collins #98 of the Washington Wizards rebounds against the Chicago Bulls at the United Center on April 17, 2013 in Chicago, Illinois.
Jonathan Daniel/Getty Images

On Saturday’s Up with Steve Kornacki, we will discuss the grassroots backlash against senators who voted against new gun regulations and the state of the movement to reform gun laws outside of Washington, DC. We will also look at the remarks President Obama made this week and consider how the substance of his statements may have been overlooked.

Finally, we’ll talk about Jason Collins, changing attitudes about sexuality among professional athletes, and employment discrimination and sexuality.

Joining Steve Kornacki at 8 AM ET will be:

Jamelle Bouie, staff writer, The American Prospect (@jbouie)

Fmr. Rep. Paul Hodes (D-NH)

George Zornick, writer, The Nation (@gzornick)

Anna Holmes, writer, editor, founder, Jezebel.com  (@annaholmes)

Noreen Malone, staff writer, The New Republic (@noreenmalone)

Monica Potts, senior writer, The American Prospect (@MonicaBPotts)

John Amaechi, former NBA player (@johnamaechi)

State Sen. Kelvin Atkinson (D-NV) (@katkinson702)

Mary Curtis, contributor, The Washington Post (@mcurtisnc3)

Mike Pesca, sports reporter, NPR (@pescami)

May 4: Town Halls and guns, President Obama's speeches, and Jason Collins

Updated