German, Iranian, British and American diplomats, Frank Walter Steinmeier, Federica Mogherini, Mohammad Javad Zarif, Philip Hammond and John Kerry (L-R) after the last plenary session in Vienna, Austria July 14, 2015. 
Photo by Leonhard Foeger/Reuters

The Iran deal whip: Where does your senator stand?

Congress will vote in early September on a ‘Resolution of Disapproval’ related to the Iran nuclear deal, a level of oversight put into place when Congress passed the Iran Nuclear Agreement Review Act in May.

The Resolution of Disapproval, if signed into law, would permanently prevent the president from waiving or suspending the congressional sanctions put in place against Iran, which could scuttle the deal negotiated by the P5+1 countries in Vienna. But President Barack Obama has the ability to veto the resolution, something he has said he would do if the measure makes it to his desk for his signature.

Vote-counters on Capitol Hill are working feverishly to tally the votes on either side of the issue. If Obama gets 34 Senators to vote in support of the deal, Congress will not be able to overturn Obama’s veto, and if 41 Senators vote in support of the deal, it could kill a Resolution of Disapproval altogether.

Here’s what we know so far about where senators stand.

Support (Total: 26)

Oppose (Total: 33)

Undecided/Unannounced (Total: 41)

  • Lamar Alexander, R-TN
  • Michael Bennet, D-CO
  • Richard Blumenthal, D-CT
  • Cory Booker, D-NJ
  • Maria Cantwell, D-WA
  • Ben Cardin, D-MD
  • Tom Carper, D-DE
  • Bob Casey, D-PA
  • Bill Cassidy, R-LA
  • Thad Cochran, R-MS
  • Susan Collins, R-ME
  • Chris Coons, D-DE
  • Mike Crapo, R-ID
  • Mike Enzi, R-WY
  • Deb Fischer, R-NE
  • Cory Gardner, R-CO
  • Chuck Grassley, R-IA
  • Orrin Hatch, R-UT
  • Heidi Heitkamp, D-ND
  • Dean Heller, R-NV
  • John Hoeven, R-ND
  • Johnny Isakson, R-GA
  • Ron Johnson, R-WI
  • James Lankford, R-OK
  • Mike Lee, R-UT
  • Joe Manchin, D-WV
  • Jeff Merkley, D-OR
  • Barbara Mikulski, D-MD
  • Shelly Moore Capito, R-WV
  • Lisa Murkowski, R-AK
  • Patty Murray, D-WA
  • Gary Peters, D-MI
  • Rob Portman, R-OH
  • Harry Reid, D-NV
  • Pat Roberts, R-KS
  • Mike Rounds, R-SD
  • Jeff Sessions, R-AL
  • Debbie Stabenow, D-MI
  • Mark Warner, D-VA
  • Roger Wicker, R-MS
  • Ron Wyden, D-OR

This story originally appeared on

Iran and Senate

The Iran deal whip: Where does your senator stand?