This June 15, 2011 file photo shows a spoonful of Honey Nut Cheerios in Pembroke, N.Y.
(Photo by David Duprey/File/AP

1.8 million boxes of Cheerios recalled because of allergens

Updated

General Mills on Monday issued a recall of some Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios cereal because some that were labeled as gluten-free contained wheat.

The recall affects an estimated 150,000 cases, or 1.8 million boxes, made in July at its Lodi, California facility. General Mills cited “potential adverse health effects” for people with wheat allergies or celiac disease.

RELATED: Whole Foods to stop selling products made by prisoners

The company said it would take affected boxes from warehouse and store shelves. General Mills noted that wheat flour was “inadvertently introduced” to the gluten-free oat flour system in an “isolated incident.”

The recall includes four days of production of original Cheerios and thirteen days of production of Honey Nut Cheerios made in July. Cheerios tweeted how consumers can identify if a box they bought was affected.

General Mills shares closed up about 1% higher on Monday.

This article first appeared on NBCNews.com

Explore:

Recall

1.8 million boxes of Cheerios recalled because of allergens

Updated