Chris’ list: Five new national monuments to be dedicated Monday

Chris' List
Chris' List

President Obama will use the Antiquities Act Monday to dedicate five new national monuments. These are areas protected because of their cultural, natural and ecological value.

Here they are:

    • the Rio Grande del Norte National Monument in New Mexico

    • the San Juan Islands National Monument in Washington state

    • a monument commemorating Harriet Tubman and the Underground Railway in Maryland

    • the Charles Young Buffalo Soldiers National Monument in Ohio

    • the First State National Monument in Delaware